No Nazareno for a Lazy Ass

Waking up today by a message from a friend if I was going to the Traslacion rattled me out of bed when I saw it’s 2 in the afternoon already.

By the way, if you are here to research/find news about the Black Nazarene, please skip this and save yourself a minute. Yes, it’s the biggest religious feast in the Philippines. If you’re not a local of this country, you sure are moved by the tremendous faith you’ve witnessed. Miracle stories here and there. But you have to be warned, pickpocket stories are as much as the former. And it’s such a shame.

I never was a devotee of anything Catholic, in fact I never was a devotee of categorically anything even to photography. That requires discipline rooted from belief and that’s the hardest to learn if you don’t have the heart for it.

I don’t have the heart for anything right now.

That was unnecessary. Hashtag “Just Saying”. Anyway, I had to work today and being up at 2PM is just right in time for me to be exactly late. So being the changed girl of 2013 that I am now, I ran straight to work and had not a glimpse of the Nazareno I was preparing the night before: The knee-high socks where I’ll be slipping my wallet and phone on (I used to do that before swimming into mosh pits); Boots, cause I once had a patay na kuko when my toe was run over a kariton (I don’t mind how gross it looks but it hurts like hell); And most importantly, my films and cameras (because that’s the reason I’m going in for). I was so prepared even to being raped. By the crowd.

My alarm clock betrayed me and that’s my story of the Feast of the Black Nazarene 2013, quite a deja vu from exactly one year ago.

Since I missed it and there’s so many wonderful shots from the feast streaming on my dashboard (Read: Inggitera), I dug photos of different Nazareno feasts in Caloocan and Manila I took from long ago with a Yashica and Bell + Howell.

000031 000030 000020 000034

About AngeliSantina

A non-writer blogger who seeks apologies for her occasional grammar lapses. She is neither a professional photographer nor a lomographer who only aims to preserve the nicest things her eyes has laid on to through her photos. She takes photos for nothing but self pleasure such as masturbating. Now that I'm done with the disclaimers, let me present the creature behind the blog, AngeliSantina. View all posts by AngeliSantina

Leave a Reply

