Quest for the Best Ramen: Urameshiya

And I’m back in my quest for the best ramen on earth! It’s been quite a while since my last good bowl of ramen so pardon my excitement, I’ll just go straight to my review.

Quest of the Best Ramen #2 

  • Restaurant: Urameshiya
  • Location: Little Tokyo, Pasong Tamo, Makati City
  • Ramen of Choice: Miso Ramen

Presentation: First thing I noticed with my ramen is that THERE IS NO FISH CAKE! While I am aware that not all ramens are served with fish cake, this is the first I had without the cute little pink spiral eye candy. It seemed less of a ramen for not having that. It doesn’t look too inviting.

momofuku_naruto1

I was also told that they run out of spinach so they are serving it with cabbage. I thought that maybe on my next visit I’ll have it with cabbage again because spinach is too vegetable for me. It’s too green for human food, well that’s just me. There’s not plenty of corn but I appreciate that it was placed in one side.

It’s also important for me that the bowl is thick. It was a big bowl so I don’t think it can be downed in 15 minutes or less and it’s nice that it was kept hot until I finish mine.  Verdict: 3 out of 5 pairs of chopsticks.

Santina1413

Taste: I chose miso ramen among the four available ramens Urameshiya serves. For one, I can never go wrong with miso. Anything with miso can easily be my favorite. Two, the other three on the menu is not miso. I just love it, sorry. I think it’s that ingredient that gives the soup it’s rich and salty taste.

The broth makes me feel that it was brought to a good and long boil as the flavor is so even on every sip and it shows on the color.

I got scared of the leeks when I saw it, I thought there was too much of it on my ramen but I was surprised, it was sweet and fresh. Whilst the leeks were overwhelming, they fell short on corn. I have tried Sapporo ramen before and if I am not mistaken, the recipe is similar to that of miso ramen. That Sapporo ramen  had corn just about everywhere on my b0wl and that’s what added sweetness to the food instead of the leeks. My overall feelings towards this ramen is love. It was so good, it was the second best I’ve had in my life! This is 4 out of 5 pairs of chopsticks.

Santina1415

Service: We didn’t have too much interaction with the service crew except when we discovered that there is a floating fly on my friend’s Kalamansi juice. Well, we honestly didn’t notice a fly any time in our stay much more see it crashing onto the drink but we are certain that it was not there when it was served.

Oh, I also appreciate that we were informed early on that it will be topped with cabbage instead of spinach. Some people prefer spinach over cabbage.

I must also say, they had the shortest waiting time for a ramen to be served so far. Verdict: This is 4.5 out of 5 pairs of chopsticks.

Santina1391

Ambience: The interiors is the most Japanese resto I’ve been. They are missing tatami mats but have shelves of Manga, the Japanese comics., to compensate.

The seats are elevated but guests are still to take their shoes of and sit on their heels. But of course we preferred to cross our legs and Indian sit.

Different kinds of sake, the Japanese wine, are sold but I bet they had it lined up everywhere to add interest in their store.

There’s nothing fancy on the store. I like that it is not as intimidating as many posh Japanese restos in Manila. See the set of condiments right there on the table, reminds me so much of my lola’s carinderia.

The curtains looks authentic. They are rolled up when guests arrive.

The lights are dim, the photos could tell.

They had TV tuned in to local news.

Price: Price for any ramen on the menu is fixed to Php200 per bowl. Verdict: 4 out of 5 pairs of chopsticks.

More info about Little Tokyo:

Little Tokyo is the place they call where Japanese restaurants are gathered to form a haven for Japanese food lovers. It is situated along Pasong Tamo with Makati Cinema Square being the nearest landmark. Outside were bigger Japanese restaurants and you can go 500 meters within the vicinity and still find more Japanese, whether restos, grocery stores, KTV bars or people.

Little Tokyo restaurants usually opens late in the afternoon for early dinner. At 7PM, Japanese people and a few Pinoys are everywhere enjoying their meal.

I swear I’ll stop this “pairs of chopsticks” thing on my ramen reviews. It kind of pisses me off too (cause I know you also do). Sure I’ll use stars. Thank you for reading!

Santina1419

About AngeliSantina

A non-writer blogger who seeks apologies for her occasional grammar lapses. She is neither a professional photographer nor a lomographer who only aims to preserve the nicest things her eyes has laid on to through her photos. She takes photos for nothing but self pleasure such as masturbating. Now that I'm done with the disclaimers, let me present the creature behind the blog, AngeliSantina. View all posts by AngeliSantina

Leave a Reply

