Best Film for DIY Redscale

While there are quite a lot of color negative films available to redscale, not everything turns out as warm as how I want it. This entry aims to show the different effects when different kinds of films are redscaled.

Before I introduce you the list of films I’ve redscaled, let me show you photos using a non-DIY redscale film from lomography.com. They call it Lomography Redscale XR 50-200.

I am absolutely impressed by how warm the photos can get using this film. The only deal breaker though, like many films from lomography.com, is the price. I don’t think I am willing to spend Php 945/box of three rolls  only to get this kind of shade on my prints, so I resorted to DIY. With a little research in the internet, I was able to make a redscale film of my own! To help you save time from researching, here is my very own DIY Redscale Film tutorial, click here.

1. Fuji Superia 400 – I used a Diana Mini to shoot with a redscaled Superia. The photos turned out so red, far from what I expected. I personally won’t shoot using this film very often but will definitely try it again using a different camera.

2. Agfa Vista 200 – I used Yashica Electro 35 GSN with a DIY Agfa Vista, the photos turned out more orangey and it’s lost contrast because of the rangefinder camera settings. For me, this is better than the redscaled Superia.

3. Kodak Ultramax 400 – The photos were amazing! This is even better than the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 film. With a redscaled Ultramax, the photos are warm but not too much to hurt the eye. I like the subtlety and the olden-day feel it brings on the photos. I used a Superheadz Super Fat lens on the shots below.

The photos are how exactly I want it using an Ultramax, more golds and less saturated than Lomography XR, so I decided to use it on a few other cameras like Diana Mini and Holga CFN.

An expired Kodak Ultramax 400 is around Php45-80 pesos in the market that makes this alternative a go-to redscale film for many lomographers. I strongly recommend that you try to make a redscale film of your own especially if you are starting lomographer. It makes you not fear the coming modifications and DIY you’ll soon come across with lomography. So gather some guts now and save hundreds of pesos with a Kodak Ultramax DIY redscale film.

About AngeliSantina

A non-writer blogger who seeks apologies for her occasional grammar lapses. She is neither a professional photographer nor a lomographer who only aims to preserve the nicest things her eyes has laid on to through her photos. She takes photos for nothing but self pleasure such as masturbating. Now that I'm done with the disclaimers, let me present the creature behind the blog, AngeliSantina. View all posts by AngeliSantina

Leave a Reply

