Agfa CT Precisa 100, A Photographic Film Review

Hello Lomography lovers! I’m here once again to help you pick photographic films in your next purchase. I know some of us have qualms in buying slide films since they’re pricier than our ordinary negative films but there are some that are really worth your every buck.

  • Speed: ISO 100 – not very sensitive to light; not recommended in low-light situations
  • Format: 35mm – can be used on 35mm cameras; can be used on medium format cameras too for sprocket photography
  • Type: Slide – cross-process exposed films to achieve vivid and saturated photos
  • Price: P230/roll – find Photofilm Manila on Facebook

ct_precisa_100

I choose to review Agfa CT Precisa 100 because the results are always gorgeous. I mean I’ve used it with four different cameras and although some photos resulted to what I didn’t expect, they’re still as impressive as ever!

I first tried the film on my Diana Mini camera. Whenever I press the shutter release with Precisa loaded, I already have a picture in mind of how it will turn out. I know it’s going to be mostly high saturated shades of blue all over my print just like a Kodak Ektachrome but I’m yet to see the difference until my first processed roll came. Precisa has a more subtle blue colors, there are so much turquoise!

But I was surprised to get redscaled photos. These photos were shot on low-light conditions, still with my Diana Mini camera. Was I disappointed, not at all.

I next tried Precisa on a point and shoot camera called Bell + Howell BF 35. This combo produced more varied colors thus, the most surprising set among the four. Although turquoise is still the most prominent color, I am happy to see emerald green and pristine white on some of the shots. By the way, Bell + Howell shoots at an aperture of  f/7.7 and shutter speed of 1/100s.

Next camera I used to test Precisa is my 1969 vintage camera, Yashica Electro 35 GSN. Yashica produced pretty much the same hue that is leaning more on teal but since this camera is a rangefinder that shoots in variable aperture and shutter speed, the colors were more consistent. I always aim for the correct exposure with this camera, thus, results were more precise and not very surprising.

Another point and shoot camera I used with Precisa is Superheadz Super Fat Lens. It has a wide angle lens that takes sharp and high contrast photos. With an aperture of f/11 and shutter speed of 1/125s, I didn’t expect yellows on it as it works best with shooting outdoors with intense natural light.

In all four cameras I used with Precisa, my favorite is when I paired it with Superheadz. I’m sure you have your own pick too with its versatility and amazing range of blue to yellow hue. I noticed that my sunset shots, when the sun is so bright and close to the horizon, that’s when it produces shades of green. Turquoise is most pronounced when shooting in broad daylight which makes clouds the best subject in this case. The photos are most likely to be in redscale when light is scarce and in Bulb shutter speed setting.

My over all verdict to Agfa CT Precisa 100 is 10 stars out of 10. It’s currently my personal favorite but I’m yet to test and make a review of  a few other slides in my stash. Thank you for reading and I hope this helps with your future film shopping.

About AngeliSantina

A non-writer blogger who seeks apologies for her occasional grammar lapses. She is neither a professional photographer nor a lomographer who only aims to preserve the nicest things her eyes has laid on to through her photos. She takes photos for nothing but self pleasure such as masturbating. Now that I'm done with the disclaimers, let me present the creature behind the blog, AngeliSantina. View all posts by AngeliSantina

Leave a Reply

