Quest for the Best Ramen: Omakase

Good morning early birds! Feels good to wake up early in the morning like this. Duh, so fake. Of course this is on queue. I must still be lying flat on my stomach dead asleep at this time of the day. I just wanted to write something about my quest for the best ramen in the world! Yes, I should be in Japan, but my world is confined in Metro Manila so let’s start with Omakase in Greenhills. No laughing please.

Since we started faking this, I mean, I started with faking my wakefulness, might as well deceive you again. Whut? Let’s pretend that this is my first attempt in search for the best-tasting ramen there is, okay? I regret that I didn’t write about the past ramen-tasting sessions(?) but since I just numbered this first, then I must create a second and so on.

Quest of the Best Ramen #1 

  • Restaurant: Omakase (where I allegedly lost my precious films, huhu.)
  • Branch: Greenhills
  • Ramen of Choice: Shoyu Ramen

Presentation: The soup is not So Hott. If it’s a big bowl of soup, isn’t it supposed to be caution-worthy hot? Yes it’s a big bowl of ramen they served, but not the biggest I’ve ever downed. Nyaha. (I shouldn’t be comparing, this is truly a fake first attempt.) Speaking of bowls, theirs is quite thick that could have helped keep the freshly-cooked feel had it been served, again, So Hott. Bottomline, I want my ramen as super hot as to melt a thermometer. Verdict: 3 out of 5 pairs of chopsticks.

Taste: Shoyu ramen is very common, it’s like a generic kind of ramen if there is such. Correct me if I’m wrong but as far as I can remember, Shoyu is just what the soup is called, just the base, the broth. In Omakase, Shoyu ramen is topped with chicken, fish cake, hard-boiled egg and a few leaves. The soup was so tasty and I can attest that there is no hint of Knorr cubes. Verdict: 4 out of 5 pairs of chopsticks.

Service: Their team is not well-trained in customer service. The restaurant was a little more than half full but the service crew were already confused on who’s to attend to whom. Our bowls were not placed directly before us. I feel like although it wasn’t a hard work pulling our bowls from the far end of the table, it is still considerably uncourteous to just leave the food without even asking which is for whom. Verdict: This is 3 out of 5 pairs of chopsticks.

Ambience: I like the wall papers and the lamps. The couch is comfy. The interiors looked like it was intended for little Japanese girls but the lighting was a little dim for it. I like it like that!Verdict: 5 out of 5 pairs of chopsticks.

Price: Price range for ramen is around 195-245 per bowl. (I will get back to you on this, I’m not so sure.) Price is just right. Verdict: 4 out of 5 pairs of chopsticks.

About AngeliSantina

A non-writer blogger who seeks apologies for her occasional grammar lapses. She is neither a professional photographer nor a lomographer who only aims to preserve the nicest things her eyes has laid on to through her photos. She takes photos for nothing but self pleasure such as masturbating. Now that I'm done with the disclaimers, let me present the creature behind the blog, AngeliSantina. View all posts by AngeliSantina

Leave a Reply

