Quiapo Goes Anime

An event sponsored by Phottix happened at the photographer’s haven in Manila—Hidalgo. A lot of pro photographers and enthusiasts alike came to join the workshop that started early in the morning by Jay Tablante and Ricky Ladia. As what I expect of myself, I came in late and therefore experienced the last quarter of the event, the awarding (there was an on-the-spot photo contest) and the parade of a small group of cosplayers on the street.

I know none of these anime characters.

The out-of-focus robot…

More robots…

These kids had to introduce me to the robots…

They said, they were Bumblebee and Megatron. Uh-oh. Sounds familiar. Didn’t I watch Transformers? Okay, I slept the movie away to the credits…

And this is Optimus Prime nursing his broken finger with mighty bond.

And oh, Megatron needs glue too…

They never get tired of going after the robots

That’s while I speak with Mang Dado, his estante is right on the nearest sidewalk. I didn’t know he has an apprentice (the pissed guy in the background). It used to be just him for the longest time. I’m scared of the new guy, he seemed hotheaded…

but able. He is fixing a family camera, whom the owner spoke to me in curiosity about the cameras dangling around my neck. I enjoyed the conversation with him and his two sons (one was of my age) that I forgot to take a photo of them. Sayang.

On my right was a photo-op, the mother was a cosplayer too.

Pilipinas represent!

Hot anime legs

A young merchant was reminded that he was, after all, still a kid.

I’m going back for these kids. They gathered around me so excited to see the photos. All they said was “Pa-recopy, ate”.

The submitted entries for the photo contest

And the participants submitting their entry on the last minute

The winner of a Phottix studio kit along with many other camera accessories. He was, apparently, last year’s winner too… Can we make him one of the judges next year?

Thank you to the sponsor, Hotel Sogo Phottix.

And that ends one-third of my day yesterday. Sorry for the long post. 

About AngeliSantina

A non-writer blogger who seeks apologies for her occasional grammar lapses. She is neither a professional photographer nor a lomographer who only aims to preserve the nicest things her eyes has laid on to through her photos. She takes photos for nothing but self pleasure such as masturbating. Now that I'm done with the disclaimers, let me present the creature behind the blog, AngeliSantina. View all posts by AngeliSantina

Leave a Reply

